Writing a Feature Film: Day 2

I did a lot more research today then I did writing. I am at 11 pages now, but I wanted to look into distribution companies, and prices. I did not really find a whole lot of info, but then again I am not to sure what I am looking for either.

I was trying to figure out the process for Indie Filmmakers to get the films into theatres; also, I am trying to contact a few screenwriters to discuss my screenplay. For the most part, I have been doing a lot of outlines, trying to figure what will work, and what will not.  I don’t want to rush it, and I am trying to keep a great flow going throught to story; also, I am trying to keep it interesting.

My mind set for my process in writing is to keep every scene exciting, always having an attention grabber. I am thinking about writing more tonight, but I am getting tired, so I may just wait till a new day.

Still excited, and still ready to do more. Hope all is well with everyone, and hope your dreams are as big as mine.

2 responses

  1. Alex

    Good news is that I have some of that information you want, the bad news is that it is a lot more work than you would imagine. Keep to writing the script and don’t concern yourself with the theaters until you get the script picked up by a production studio and decent director. By the way, if the studio is reputable and has produced several silver screen masterpieces they might have some recommendations for distribution points and companies to work with.

    About movie theaters. They are for the most part franchises owned by a larger company, usually out of state. However, equally so, there are plenty of independent movie theaters out there as well. There is a list of which theaters are owned by whom when it comes to larger holdings companies (as the theaters come up as franchise or subsidiaries).

    Many of the distribution companies will neglect to tell you this as they don’t want to give up any of their secrets; if you are in it for the love of script to screen, great but if you are in it for the money more than anything, you really need to understand what they can and cannot do for you.

    As with retail sales, many distribution companies will sell you a service they cannot deliver in full, so please be careful. Read the fine print and if you don’t understand it, take it to your lawyer. Never feel pressured to sign a deal up front as that can be a big red flag.

    Remember this, everything in a contract is negotiation, everything. If they won’t allow you to rebut a clause, there is something they are hiding and don’t want you to know. Red flag again!

    August 26, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    • Thanks for the great information, it really means a lot, and it was super helpful. Thanks for everything.

      August 31, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Leave a Reply

